Thanks for the FAQ!

Monday, January 16, 2012

Here it is folks, one of the biggest disputes/rules questions (that affects my bike army) has been laid to rest! I'm referring to the ability to Combat Squad when arriving from Reserves by Outflank, Deep Strike, etc. I've always felt that units with both of these rules could in fact do so as they never directly contradicted or imposed restrictions on each other, however given the wording in the older FAQ I can understand how some might be confused. Anyway, with the latest Space Marine FAQ, GW has wisely removed the poorly worded Q & A that caused all this confusion and made it crystal clear what is allowed when utilizing these two special rules:
Q: When a unit of 10 Space Marines with the Combat Squad special rule arrives from reserve as two combat squads, can they move on from, or Deep Strike onto, two different locations? (p51)
A: Yes.
Here's the link to all of the updated FAQ's, which I'm pretty sure all but Tau and Templars got some love: GW FAQs.

The Internet has been up in arms about this whole '6th edition leak' lately and I can't think of a better way GW could have quashed such a buzz than by officially addressing such a large set of rules questions/clarifications for 5th edition. Something I know most of us have been wanting to see for some time. Good job GW! I hope this is a new direction for how the company intends to handle general rules and codex specific questions -- get ALL armies on the same page at the same time (and as quickly as possible!)

14 comments:

  1. Joe,

    I told you so ;p

    Anyways, apparently on other blogs they have been playing it wrong the entire time. I just think it is funny that something which clearly referred to Drop Pods only became superimposed on a perfectly clear rule.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a good day indeed! Almost makes me want to buy another ravenwing battleforce just so I can run 4 full-sized bike squads and combat them all from outflank ;)

      Delete
    2. Were you planning on running any other units?

      You do need support units in your army ;p

      Delete
    3. I know the bikes need some support, especially since they can't reach higher elevation to capture objectives or engage campers. However, for fun, one of these days I'd like to try an ALL biker list just see how many T5 guys I can roll on the table with! haha

      Delete
  2. How does this ruling effect Raven Wing? Given that they combat squad units of 6, can someone rule that this does not pertain to them?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dark Angels can do that as well, it is covered in their FAQ.

      Delete
    2. I only mention the ravenwing battleforce because it's the easiest way to get a large # of bikes and a bit cheaper than going with the smaller box set.

      Delete
  3. Great Blog!

    Im following you!

    You can follow me too! I got a painting Blog too !

    http://malditoduendeminiatures.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks, I'm following you too!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thought you might like that ruling. Will make Nova Open a little more interesting this time around. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Personally, that was a bad ruling on Mike's part. But I don't think anyone really followed it to begin with *whistles*

      Delete
    2. @Marshal You know it! It's looking more likely that I'll be running the bike list again this year, unless I can pull off some marathon work on my Dark Eldar. Speaking of which, how's your DE project coming along?

      @Frosty It would have been a bigger deal if I had been running Khan in my list at Nova, but I didn't add him till after that event. I'm just glad I don't have to worry about it anymore or go through some elaborate explanation before each game!

      Delete
  6. Joe, yeah I knew where you were coming from there...but, I recently added a RavenWing element to the termies.

    I was able to outflank and combat squad, but they had to come from the same side.

    I was throughly trounced and I feel with all of the advantages of RW bikes, if they can't do it...I'm doing something wrong.

    I have three boxes worth of these bikes now, so I will have to revisit it at some point...definately need to make them more combat oriented ala Khan, but I digress...don't want to get too far off topic. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really like the idea of dual-wing for DA but I always hear people say the bikes don't pull the same weight as the deathwing terminators they replace. I think Khan and the vanilla marine codex do the bikes a little better ;)

      Delete